With love from mum….

Theres something to be said about the feelings this time of year conjours up. For many, it is filled with family by their side, for others this may not be the case. My darling Master J being one of them, yep he’s away from home for the first time, living in Canada! A white Christmas indeed.

So for me, this is the first real time I have felt that feeling of separation, the kind you feel when a part of you is not there with you. I know he’s living life but it’s my baby, away from me, where I can’t hug him and wish him a Merry Christmas, but I will survive.

Which brings me to my reason for finally getting some words out, since it’s been a while.

You see, I sent him a few gifts, one of which was a crocheted hand made rug, a colourful piece that fits my boy to a tee. For as long as I’ve had my rug my Nanna crocheted me, he has envied it, even tried to nab it at one point and I promised him, that I’d make him one to take to Canada. Well it certainly wasn’t done by the time he left and he had no idea how it turned out. So it was this morning, as he opened his gifts via FaceTime with us, that I got to see the joy in his face as he picked up the colourful concoction and thanked me from afar. Citing him directly, “This is the best present ever! Thanks mum”, it was a winner!


I jokingly said that when he did get it, that he could tell of the adventures of the travelling rug, I doubt it, but I do know that he’ll take this with him as he travels the globe. Setting off on an adventure to wherever his heart takes him.

This year has been hard, losing our beloved Kyza, our Aunt Callie and Brayden, that was a rough few months. Then saying goodbye to our boy, knowing that we may not see each other in the flesh for some time. 

So as I take stock of the year that was 2019, I realised that every trial and tribulation, every tear cried in joy or sadness, every breath I took, was another step in my lifes journey.

I have overcome some insecurities, I have felt great pain and sadness and I have lived a good year overall. I can’t say its been easy but in life, sometimes the greatest things come from the challenges we face.

Sitting here, this summere Christmas night, I wish you all well. My 2020 will see me take off to Canada to visit my boy, I am growing my department and overall I see the coming year as one that will have to be better that this one!

Merry Chistmas one and all, hug your dear ones, call the far and remember life is for living, live it the best you can, with love and passion. And you my boy @jed.zeppelin , may this next year, your 21st, be the best yet!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.